Advisory Committee

Flood Control Zone District Advisory Committee

The Pierce County Council authorized an Advisory Committee made up of 15 members to make recommendations on various budget and policy issues and project priorities. They meet approximately once a month for briefings, discussions, and crafting recommendations for the Flood Control Zone District. They follow these guidelines and this
2020 Work Plan.

2020 Meeting Schedule

All meetings take place at Pierce County Planning & Public Works, 2nd Floor Conference Room 2702 South 42nd Street, Tacoma, WA, from 9:00 a.m. - noon

March 6

May 8

June 5 

July 10

August 7

November 6

Current Members
Spencer Abersold, Councilmember, City of Gig Harbor, WRIA 15; Mike Dahlem, Public Works Director, City of Sumner, Vice Chair; Bruce Dammeier, Executive, Pierce County; Paul Green, Business Representative; Ellen Knowlen, WRIA 12; Russ Ladley, Natural Resources Director, Puyallup Tribe of Indians; David Lewis, WRIA 10; Todd McKellips, Unincoporated Pierce County; John Palmer, Deputy Mayor, City of Puyallup; Greg Reed, Public Works Director, City of Orting; Kim Roscoe, Mayor, City of Fife, and Chuck West, Battalion Chief, Key Peninsula Fire Department, Unincorporated Pierce County. Appointments for Port of Tacoma and City of Tacoma will be announced soon. Alternates in 2020: Chris Cooley for Pierce County Executive; Louis Wolfrom, Councilmember City of Fife; Jason Jordan, Port of Tacoma; Hans Hunger, City of Puyallup, and Char Naylor, Puyallup Tribe of Indians.

Members are appointed by the County Executive and confirmed by the County Council. They represent various cities, unincorporated Pierce County, Water Resource Inventory Areas, businesses, the Port of Tacoma, and Agriculture and/or Forestry Interest Organizations or the Puyallup Tribe of Indians. See 2019 appointments.

Additional Information

For more information, contact Kjristine Lund, liaison to Advisory Committee and Board of Supervisors, at 206-612-8138.